The 6th Annual WICC Ottawa Sugar Bush Breakfast was held on April 8th 2016 at the Shaw-Centre.  Over 250 guests had the opportunity to network and catch up with industry colleagues while enjoying the spectacular view, celebrating WICC’s 20th Anniversary, and having fun in the photo booth*, before a hearty French Canadian style breakfast was served.

From the spoon playing, MacCulloch Dancers, and live music by the fiddler and guitarist team to the maple taffy and plaid shirts, it was truly a “Sugar Bush” in the city ambiance. A cheque presentation in the amount of $25,000.00 was made to Byron James, manager, Canadian Cancer Society Ottawa. In attendance was Andrew Wight, a member of the CCS Research Information Outreach Team (RIOT), who spoke about his involvement in Dr. Makrigiannis’ research which is supported by “WICC Ontario (Ottawa Region) Innovation Grant of the Canadian Cancer Society”. This grant was named in recognition of WICC’s generous support and is in its second year of funding.

The event was equally successful from a financial perspective thanks to our guests and sponsors. We raised over $8,000.00 after expenses and the funds will go directly to the Canadian Cancer Society.

Thank you to our Gold Level Sponsors – $3,500.00

o   Gowling WLG

o   Nelligan O’Brien Payne LLP

Thank you to our Silver Level Sponsor – $1,500.00

o   Cavanagh LLP

Thank you to our Bronze Level Sponsors – $500.00

o   Borden Ladner Gervais LLP

o   Bradley’s Insurance

o   Desjardins Insurance

o   Forbes Chochla LLP

o   MDD Forensic Accountants

o   Reed Research International Investigators & Intelligence

o   Promus

o   William Litigation Lawyers

Stay tuned for next year’s 7th Annual WICC (Ottawa) Sugar Bush Breakfast being held on April 7, 2017!

* Click here to view the Rogers TV segment featuring Ottawa Sugar Bush Breakfast 2016

* Click here to see pictures from WICC Sugar Bush Breakfast 2016

To access the gallery, use your email address & the following case-sensitive password:  sugarbushbreakfast
To download the photos, use the following 4-digit PIN: 7058

This photo collection will be online until:  May 10th, 2016

A special thank you to WICC’s 6th Annual Sugar Bush Committee Members.

The WICC OTTAWA 2016 Sugar Bush Breakfast Committee:

Marie Clemens, Nelligan O’Brien Payne LLP – Chair

Robin Brown, Cavanagh LLP
John Good, Read Research
Cheryl Smith, Desjardins Insurance
Emily Millar, TRAC Group
Tessa Warmelink, Gowling WLG (Canada) LLP
Stephanie Doucet, Gowling WLG (Canada) LLP
Shaun Jaberolansar, Kelly Santini LLP
Sandra Lebrun, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
Chris Pierre, KeyNorth Group
Jean-Charles Plante, KPMG LLP
Mike Kohut


2016 WICC Sugar Bush Committee

2016 WICC Sugar Bush Committee